RURAL MUNICIPALITY OF CORNWALLIS

PROVINCE OF MANITOBA

BEING A BYLAW of the Rural Municipality of Cornwallis for the purpose of establishing a Police Board.

WHEREAS subsection 26(1) of The Police Services Act, C.C.S.M., Cap. P94.5, provides as follows:

26(1) Every municipality that operates a police service must establish and maintain a police board in accordance with this Division.

AND WHEREAS subsection 30(1) of *The Police Services Act, C.C.S.M., Cap. P94.5*, provides as follows:

30(1) The council of a municipality must establish the size of its police board by by-law. The police board must

(a) consist of at least three members, in the case of a municipality with a population of 5,000 or less

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the Rural Municipality of Cornwallis, in Council duly assembled, enacts as follows:

- 1. A police board for the Rural Municipality of Cornwallis is hereby established.
- 2. The police board for the Rural Municipality of Cornwallis shall consist of three members.
- 3. The members shall be appointed as follows:
 - a. One (1) member of Council appointed by resolution of council;
 - b. One (1) resident appointed by resolution of council, who is neither a member of council nor an employee of the Rural Municipality of Cornwallis; and
 - c. One (1) member appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.
- 4. Council shall appoint the chair and vice-chair of the police board by resolution of council.
- 5. Remuneration to members of the police board who are not members of council shall be set by resolution of council.

DONE AND PASSED as a by-law of The Rural Municipality of Cornwallis in the Province of Manitoba this 18th day of December, 2012.

RURAL MUNICIPALITY OF CORNWALLIS

REEVE CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER

RECEIVED first reading this 20th day of November, 2012. RECEIVED second reading this 18th day of December, 2012. RECEIVED third reading this 18th day of December, 2012.